A crash course in WORRYING!!!!

“Have you read the papers do you hear what they say? Rising UNEMPLOYMENT cost of living everyday is getting high……… But I realize that there is something about praise, I shouldn’t only come when all is seemingly okay, so when we start to cry that our life is a mess, don’t be scared don’t be discouraged it is only a test ………………… I still choose to worship you” – Cobhams Asuquo

June is here, in a matter of days I will be wearing my mourning uniform (NYSC Khaki’s) one last time as a sign that I have served my father land; congratulations to me, myself and everyone indeed!
I promised not to dwell on it but will still talk about it: THE MAY 21ST JUDGMENT DAY that turned out not to be judgment day, oh well writing this month took longer than I expected, been fighting the battle of the mind for quite a while and with my present state I guess I am on the winning talk! Today (17th, June 2011) is the beginning of my self-discipline! Taemytayo congratulations.
May 21st 2011, was like any normal day to me but yet another disappointing day to judgment day calculators! I really don’t know what they were thinking believing rapture was going to be that Saturday (come to think of it; Saturday!!! how convenient!!!). In my beloved country Nigeria, that period was when the central bank of Nigeria decided to adopt NUBAN (National Universal Bank Account Numbers) I agree it was soo “end timey”. The truth is even Jesus doesn’t know when the end will come but he assured us that we are in the end times! That should help us live ready. The thing about us humans; we are too lazy and love expos. Seriously live ready and save your bank accounts and family the stress of getting ready! “The king will come in the cloud with great power and no man knoweth neither the day nor the hour when he would make his soon return.” That was one song that came to my mind when this entire judgment day rumor filtered in.
Have you ever been in a situation where you aren’t thinking of certain things but you keep learning about it, then you start wondering why you are learning such? Yes or no that’s what has been happening to me; which brings me to the topic of this month: A CRASH COURSE IN WORRYING.
It all started with reassuring biblical scriptures coming to my head! It was sweet at first because it made me stronger, bolder and happier now that I am writing the exams of the course I am realizing that it takes more than listening to lectures in class and passing; real life lessons are passed if you take what your lecturer (God) is teaching and use the lecture note (the bible) to come out tops in this life of theirs! (oops! I forgot to add that I am in this world but not of the world).
I woke up one morning feeling fly, I prayed a prayer of thanksgiving just like cobhams advised all of a sudden I paused because a scripture in that soothing still small voice said: “Tayo, for I know the plans I have for you, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future; then you will call upon me and I will answer you” I was taken aback with that because everything seemed to go on smoothly in my life and I thought in my own wisdom that I didn’t need any form of reassurance, little did I know that I was soo WRONG.
Right now I have faced challenges however privately but I am back and I can rightfully say that I am nothing without God; he makes everything beautiful in his own way. More scriptures came pouring in; like the Abrahamic faith in Hebrews, the child-like believe of the prostitute with the alabaster box (she believed Jesus was more than capable of forgiving her sin) or the desperate-believe like the woman with the issue of blood. I must say with the right authority that May/June were days that seemed like discouragement was the order of the day. If you are faced with challenges and you feel that the worst has already happened or you seem to be on the wrong lane of good news, well here’s a shocker: he never said it would be easy but he promised it would be worth it. I must also confess that these past days I had a lot of he said she said rather; I say God says situations (almost to the point of accident on the wheel ….see January’s blog entry.)


Would I believe you when you would say

Your hand will guide my every way
Will I receive the words You say
Every moment of every day
 
Well I will walk by faith
Even when I cannot see
Well because this broken road
Prepares Your will for me
 
Help me to win my endless fears
You’ve been so faithful for all my years
With one breath You make me new
Your grace covers all I do
 
Well I’m broken, but I still see Your face
Well You’ve spoken, pouring Your words of grace- Jeremy Camp
The earlier we realize that we ought to work by faith and not by sight the sooner we live healthy. I want to encourage you in the Lord that though you think God is too slow in working out your problem, he is “slow” because we are playing with sand (our life)  rather than allow the master porter mould us to perfection and test us with fire (trials and tribulations) till we are fit for use and ultimately for display by the master like he did with job!
I would like you to know that being upright with God is the only key to get it right in this wrong world we live in, afteral if you cared to read one of the strategically written love letter he said: “seek ye first the kingdom of God and his RIGHTEOUSNESS and all other things would be added to you” where most of us get it wrong is the sentence structure we want to get the “ALL OTHER THINGS SHALL BE ADDED UNTO YOU” part and ignore the earlier part of the sentence. If you think you are discouraged and you want to throw in the towel just remember: ‘the path of the JUST is as a shining light that shines brighter and brighter until the perfect day’ are you a JUST or you are just exisisting? Your answer will determine whether you can lay claim to anything.
It took me almost a month to pen down/type just a tip of what I learnt and I am still learning but I hope it will help you figure out your situation. I definitely love you my readers but Jesus loves you the most, tap into his grace and reason with him, he loves you unconditionally.
TAKE NOTE
July is just a scream away, a year ago next month I was a fresh blood preparing for one of the most-bloody National Youth Service Corps ever (in my own opinion), I am eternally grateful to God that I wasn’t kidnapped in ummuna-bende local government or anywhere else. I can proudly state that I grew up both physically and spiritually and I’m still growing up, the Lord indeed be praised. To my friends and personal persons going to serve this month; I wish you God’s speed and to us all growing up without enforced discipline I pray that God will be our reason for living and we would live a life of praise!!!!!!!!!!!
To all who didn’t guess: yes! I have laid to rest my mourning attire (NYSC uniform) with a sigh and a salute!
I pray that in times where we are lonely, our loneliness will drive us to long for God way beyond words!

just like Cobhams concluded: I STILL CHOOSE TO WORSHIP YOU (GOD)
DON’T YOU FORGET IN A HURRY
Recommended album for the month: HELLO FEAR by Kirk Franklin- it makes too much sense joor!


One thought on “A crash course in WORRYING!!!!

Leave a Reply

