Something about compromise

Counting my blessings, I thank God for what this year had and still has in stock for me. Started this year with all the optimism I could muster but along the months it died, then I had to search within to make It without but today after it all; I stand in awe, I stand forgiven and my blessed redeemer I stand with heart and hand up in thanksgiving.
I want to thank everyone for their continuity, their advice, even offering me their strength to tap from when I felt I had none. I want to thank you for the birthday prayers, wishes and shout outs; really I felt to an extent loved. I want to use this medium to thank my readers and followers for their love, their words of encouragement and I pray I am continually a tool; better yet a vessel unto honor and not to dishonor to God and God’s.
I have personally decided not to give up on Nigeria (I am after all a living benefit of God’s property) and God will definitely not give up on me. I will rather list the ills of this nation and get down on my knees to talk to my heavenly father. 
“I don’t have a god father but I have God the father – Pastor J.T. Kalejaiye” 
and one with God is a majority. Concerning the airfare charged Nigerian air passengers by British airways, I see it as pure exploitation and an evidence of treat your country the way you want it to be treated.
“Don’t look for shortcuts to God. The market is flooded with surefire, easy going formulas for a successful life that can be practiced in your spare time. Don’t fall for that stuff, even though crowds of people do. The way to life-to-God!- is vigorous and requires total attention.” – Matthew 7:13-14
This month I want to basically reflect on how much God has done for me (I want to advise you to do the same.)  I have found out in the course of the past eleven months that God is my only exceeding joy and no one can compare to God my exceeding joy, everything starts and ends at his majestic feet. (Holding that line of thought down, I want to talk about something else.) Never compromise God’s standard for the standard of this world, there’s a reason he is the all knowing God and the world is just what it is- the world. You have everything to lose compromising God’s standard and nothing lasting to gain keeping to the rules of this world. I decided to try something new (trying something new and God-oriented is healthy) and it has helped improve my understanding the scriptures in “today’s” terms and that is reading my bible with “the message” translation (sincerely it’s refreshing). Below are some scriptures that stuck:
  • HIS WORD:
Romans 14:22-23 – Cultivate your own relationship with God, but don’t impose it on others. You’re fortunate if your behavior and your belief are coherent (v23) But if you’re not sure, if you notice that you are acting in ways inconsistent with what you believe-some days trying to impose your opinions on others, other days just trying to please them-then you know that you’re out of line. If the way you live isn’t consistent with what you believe then it’s wrong.
MY UNDERSTANDING: This thought me not to be quick to judge others, it also emphasizes what I stressed earlier on not compromising God’s standard; it’s either you’re working according to his will or you are not and all I need to do is let the holy spirit work in me, that way I’m corrected when I’m being a people-pleaser or being an uncalled-for judge. (your thoughts may differ but please ponder on these scriptures.)
·          
  • HIS WORD:
Romans 4:4: if you’re a hard worker and do a good job, you deserve your pay; we don’t call your wages a gift (v5) But if you see that the job is too big for you, that it’s something only God can do, and you trust him to do it-you could never do it for yourself no matter how hard and long you worked- well, that trusting-him-to-do-it is what gets you set right with God, by God. Sheer gift.
MY UNDERSTANDING: we can’t call what we receive from God a salary or a wage, we can’t quantify what out of all the things God has done for us which is a salary (hope it isn’t a mind twister) because it’s by grace we can approach the throne of grace in the first place. There’s a place of action and there’s a very powerful place of “bended knees” and the reward thereof (try action but never underestimate the power of answered prayers gotten through grace) 
  •    HIS WORD:
Luke 14:11: What I am saying is, if you walk around with your nose in the air, you’re going to end up flat on your face. But if you’re content to be simply yourself, you will become more than yourself.”
MY UNDERSTANDING: it’s no news that pride comes before a fall but people just seem to everly fall into the pride-trap (me inclusive) we need to consciously check ourselves; let us be our own pride police, that way there would be a dramatic reduction in “falling down” rates in our race to eternity.
·         HIS WORD:
Psalm 1:1-3: How well God must like you- you don’t hang out at sin saloon, you don’t slink along dead-end road, you don’t go to smart-mouth College. (v2) Instead you thrill to God’s word; you chew on scriptures day and night. (v3) you’re a tree replanted in Eden, bearing fresh fruit every month, never dropping a leaf, always in blossom.
MY UNDERSTANDING: All the things avoided to be God’s favorite is avoided is done by grace, the presence of the Holy Spirit and the turnaround effect can never be over emphasized. If whatever spirit condemns you then it’s the devil using the guilt sickle to draw you or better yet make you one of his harvest but if you do anything and you feel convicted and not condemned and also see a window of repentance and in most cases restitution then it’s the Holy Spirit working in you to make you a David (a man after God’s heart) in your generation: take criticism with grace and humility!!!!
When praying remember this: John 14: 13: “from now on, whatever you request along the lines of who I am and what I am doing, I’ll do it. That’s how the father will be seen for who he is in the son.” I mean it, so no need to fret.
Merry Christmas and in being merry remember that if Mary was compromised then God would have used another avenue for Jesus; you are not God’s last card. Happy new year in advance and swim in his grace!!!
Remember; you are the prized possession of the God that calls that which is not as though they are; so don’t diminish your value by compromising God’s standard with the frivolities of this world
2 thoughts on “Something about compromise

  1. nice one Tayo….this part took knocked something out of me
    …………
    But if you see that the job is too big for you, that it’s something only God can do, and you trust him to do it-you could never do it for yourself no matter how hard and long you worked- well, that trusting-him-to-do-it is what gets you set right with God, by God. Sheer gift.
    ……………..
    merry Christmas!!!

    Like

  2. Thanks David. The message translation broke down what i would have otherwise seen as hard to chew daily bread. i have learnt to live in the currency of grace and the passport of the joy of my salvation

    Like

Leave a Reply

