6 Years and still Unashamed!

5b6ab-teamjesus

Tayo! You carry this Jesus thing on your head too much, live a little…well Jesus carried my matter on His head and nailed it on the cross (excerpts from the song i learnt in DCC- You no dey use me play)

I get comments like that and i’m like- naaaaa i can’t afford to live a little, abeg I am living someone else’s life, indeed I am living the #GodLife and I don’t have the freedom/choice to do as I please.

Truth is, He pretty much went overboard for me, it’s one thing to love someone and be ready to do anything for that person, it’s another thing for you to die for the person! Common…it’s die we are talking about here o, a whole D-I-E!

As believers we seem to have taken Jesus’ dying for our sins for granted, He not only did that, He took it up a notch by dying for our sins even before we (the committer of the sins) were born; you may not understand the import of what he died until you’ve been in a near death situation and the reality of “your end of existence” faces you squarely- Dying is a big deal.

Every Wednesdays I will be sharing old posts from my archive, some published, others written but not published.

I wrote this featured post 6 years ago, celebrating God and how he delivered me from the jaws of death, it was 7 years ago that my parents were faced with a possibility of losing one of their children, it is this post that constantly reminds me that God is too faithful to leave me alone in my battles. I still feel the same way i felt about God’s love then now, please read, be blessed and don’t forget to share:

I kept having these insecurities of how much God loved me…….! Wait, that’s a lie, I never had such insecurities rather I was so used to being secured that I felt I was taking God for granted, I mean he is my friend but I kept having to remind myself that he is also my God and I don’t have treat him like my chain of friends (as a friendly girl, I have lots of friends!). I had no need to fret because God had just begun letting me know he doesn’t mind being my friend and my God. It’s been a year and I look back with tear-filled eyes to say thank you.

It all started one fateful hot Sunday, woke up with a splitting head ache I hadn’t had in like forever, went to church with it came back feeling better, I couldn’t tell my parents because my brother and sister had malaria (all the children couldn’t be sick at once?!), that day the sun wouldn’t just be fair it just had to be the saHEL savannah type of sun! All alone in the house with less than six hours to get back to university of Lagos’ soil I felt like I was the ground on the parade ground (I felt trampled on), my point is I was weak inside but had to put on a brave front, mumsy commented on my unusual high temperature but I told her it was the sun’s effect on my skin (if only I knew better). I left for school against my mum’s wishes, though she said I should treat myself when I got to school I desperately wanted to leave the house before popsy came back home, I desperately wanted alone time with God and couldn’t wait for Levites’ rehearsals (I loved the song I never got to sing!)

Read more here: Certified Unashamed for CHRIST!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

