Oluwatomilola Tiffany

What is love?

Just before you roll your eyes and say “’Tayo has come with her love posts again.

I thought I knew what love was, like seriously, I could give you a list of my friends I really love, my parents, my siblings etc. I could go on and on about how much I love my sister; how she prays for me, fights my battles for me (both spiritual and physical), how though not physically flexible is willing to bend over backwards, how without her consciously giving it, her quiet strength is what keeps me moving sometimes. Like I said, I can go on, on how much I love and respect her (see how that quietly slide into my love testament). Yes, with love comes RESPECT!

tomilola09

Then last year, my one and only sister gave birth to the most beautiful self-aware baby in the world- Oluwatomilola Tiffany, she had me wrapped around her little fingers. Seeing her, hearing her voice, seeing her grow, just makes the world alright to me, makes me strive to be a better human being, better aunt, better surrogate mum, it just makes me better. There were times where I would be feeling low, a video call through cheers me up, I can’t imagine my life already without her, she’s got me comprehending how deep love truly is.

How’s that you may ask- before my beautiful baby was born, I could put words to what love is, I could to an extent imagine how deep love was. The unique thing about this love is- I have never physically met her, I have only virtually seen her, I have never carried her, but I still carry her about me; she’s on my mind every time, before then, I used to qualify love to the physical.

love-is

Just imagine, I am only her aunt, not her mum or her dad and I love her that much. I loved her from the moment my sis squealed and informed me she was having a baby.

Loving Tomilola is a full time job, I now understand when God said to Jeremiah and us all:

“Before I shaped you in the womb,
I knew all about you.
Before you saw the light of day,
I had holy plans for you:
A prophet to the nations—
that’s what I had in mind for you.”- Jeremiah 1:5 MSG

My sister is a dotting mum, my mother is a dotting grandma, I am a dotting aunt but do I scold her or alert her when I see (in my case through Facetime) she’s doing something naughty or something that will harm her? Definitely, I call her attention, increase the pitch of my voice etc, her mum even goes as far as putting things out of her way that though may seem attractive to her but harmful at the end. Tomi is very self-aware and inquisitive so she’s alert, she’d cry but after everything, she goes back to her mum to be pet; my point is our love for her doesn’t stop us from scolding her where necessary. Same thing with God:

So don’t feel sorry for yourselves. Or have you forgotten how good parents treat children, and that God regards you as his children? My dear child, don’t shrug off God’s discipline, but don’t be crushed by it either. It’s the child he loves that he disciplines; the child he embraces, he also corrects. God is educating you; that’s why you must never drop out. He’s treating you as dear children. This trouble you’re in isn’t punishment; it’s training, the normal experience of children. Only irresponsible parents leave children to fend for themselves. Would you prefer an irresponsible God? We respect our own parents for training and not spoiling us, so why not embrace God’s training so we can truly live? While we were children, our parents did what seemed best to them. But God is doing what is best for us, training us to live God’s holy best. At the time, discipline isn’t much fun. It always feels like it’s going against the grain. Later, of course, it pays off handsomely, for it’s the well-trained who find themselves mature in their relationship with God.- Hebrews 12:4-11 MSG

I look at my life and I understand why God loves me so much, and why it should be easy to love God without having to see Him physically. I don’t need an actor’s face to serve as my Jesus, I don’t need to wait to physically see God to know that He loves me so much.

When things go awry- He loves me

When things are beautiful- He loves me

When it seems Jesus is sleeping in the midst of my storm- He loves me

When I fall short of His expectations- He still loves me.

If He didn’t, He wouldn’t have opened the room for dialogue

Let’s Argue This Out

 “Come. Sit down. Let’s argue this out.”
This is God’s Message:
“If your sins are blood-red,
they’ll be snow-white.
If they’re red like crimson,
they’ll be like wool.
…That’s right. God says so- Isaiah 1:18 MSG

Loving Tomilola comes easy, I already love and respect her mum, same thing with us, God already loves us so much through Jesus Christ, stop second guessing His love.

godspeaks-even-when-you-dont-believe-612x612-no-photo-with-words

See beyond the physical, embrace and open yourself to God’s love today, it’s there for free, with no strings attached, God is- pure undiluted love. Be ready to love just as fiercely, Oluwatomilola Tiffany has given me a glimpse of how much I can love, I intend to show everyone through my actions the love of Christ.

love

Till next time, read, read, enjoy, comment, and don’t forget to share!

i-heart-you-hanging-happy-valentines-day-2015-wallpaper

21 thoughts on “Oluwatomilola Tiffany

  1. This is such a great piece… The allusions to the lil lady is awesome. I think we often forget that we are still his babies… Thanks for the reminder sugar… Im a happy child with the best daddy in the world!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. If only we can decipher God’s immeasurable love for us , we would love him way harder than we do, your piece has shown that loving God should be seen as a lifestyle, if God can love us unconditionally, even with our daily shortcomings why do we find it hard to love even when love has been given to us freely ?? I have chosen to love and love “senselessly” without a second thought , because at the end Unblemished Love for one another could be a source of hope for just One person. Interesting Read i must confess Tayo. God bless u amazingly

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hmmmn I like this part- …we would love him way harder than we do…, I totally agree with you, yes the love is given freely given for all to tap into, He has indeed thankfully given us the capacity to love just as deep. I stand with you in choosing to love senselessly without a second thought. Thank you for stopping by 😉 and amen to your prayers, God bless you and yours

      Like

    • Thanks Tunji, yes, love transcends languages, distances and barriers. Same with God’s love, no need for the tower of Babel to experience God’s love. Thanks for stopping by and taking time out to comment as well.

      Like

  3. Love is a powerful compassion that can build you, can destroy you, can make you see vision that is not real. It a feelings you of handle with caution in terms of, avoiding negative thoughts , look out for unexpected situations. So you can stand firm at the end of the day.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hmmmmn thanks for the insight Dwayne, indeed love is powerful and capable of all you mentioned. Love encourages sacrifice and Jesus is a perfect example of that. Thanks for stopping by and commenting

      Like

Leave a Reply

