Moved To Action

Have you ever believed in someone or something so much that you will have it no other way? I believe everyone goes through that at least once in a life time- yes at least once in a lifetime. It’s Thursday, so permit me to do a throwback- the wedding at Cana!

103575062-water-to-wine

What we mostly remember or heard from that incident are:

  1. The original wedding wine finished
  2. Whatever he tells you to do, do it
  3. Jesus performed His first miracle
  4. He turned water to wine
  5. The surprise from the chairman

On the surface, that’s basically what the bible passage is really about, that’s what I thought too until I learnt this one lesson that still rings true in our everyday lives- WE CAN MOVE GOD TO ACTION!

Jesus said, “Is that any of our business, Mother—yours or mine? This isn’t my time. Don’t push me.”

She went ahead anyway, telling the servants, “Whatever he tells you, do it.”-  John 2:4&5 MSG

There’s a level of belief that someone places on you that spurs you to change the rules for such people. From the passage it was obvious Jesus didn’t come to the wedding to change water to wine, He came as a guest but was spurred to action by the absolute faith Mary had in Him, I mean she left him with no other choice- she went ahead anyway, telling the servants, “Whatever he tells you, do it.” #DropsMic

1c351-olukayodea-_ng_252812529While you can’t force God to do things in your life, as a believer working according to His will, when you ask God for something, rest easy that He will do it.

Today my message is this, trust God, believe in Him and what He can do with all your heart; so much that He does what you are trusting Him to do. If you thought Mary’s belief in Him was absolute, what would you say about the faith of the Centurion- even Jesus had to marvel.

As Jesus entered the village of Capernaum, a Roman captain came up in a panic and said, “Master, my servant is sick. He can’t walk. He’s in terrible pain.”

 Jesus said, “I’ll come and heal him.”

“Oh, no,” said the captain. “I don’t want to put you to all that trouble. Just give the order and my servant will be fine. I’m a man who takes orders and gives orders. I tell one soldier, ‘Go,’ and he goes; to another, ‘Come,’ and he comes; to my slave, ‘Do this,’ and he does it.”

Taken aback, Jesus said, “I’ve yet to come across this kind of simple trust in Israel, the very people who are supposed to know all about God and how he works…Then Jesus turned to the captain and said, “Go. What you believed could happen has happened.” At that moment his servant became well.- Matthew 8: 5-13

I have trusted God absolutely, I have held on to Jesus and His promises for a job- it was like my life was dependent on the job, Jesus did it and did it gloriously. When you trust God totally without a back up plan, when your back is against the wall and you trust God that He won’t let you fall, He’d show up.

Remember – Keep on praying, in the Spirit, at all times, with all kinds of prayer.

“praying at all times in the Spirit, with all prayer and supplication. To that end, keep alert with all perseverance, making supplication for all the saints”- Ephesians 6:18 ESV

Above all, trust God and His timing. 😉

e70a8ba8062c8cba8e8adb8150ab4f27

2 thoughts on “Moved To Action

Leave a Reply

