Dear Love,

What comes to your mind when the word “love” is mentioned?

Is it, Rainbows? World peace? Perhaps it’s Someone? I don’t know what it is but I am pretty sure something comes to your mind – you can’t possibly draw up blanks when it comes to love.

I stumbled on a love letter I wrote on my blog some years back (2013) and I realised that I still feel as strongly towards God as I did back then…I can comfortably say that I am still in love with God:

Dear Love,

I was going to be all artistic and start with the colour of the rainbow reflecting the different shades that could come out of the sun or the rains with its different intensity expression the depth and strength of your love, I was even thinking as far as the countries with exciting weather change (Summer, Spring, Autumn or even Winter) describing the various degrees of your love…was thinking so much, how I can express my love for you- sounding like those really poetic people, or great artists or even musicians. I realised they must have experienced you in different ways and expressed their love in a way unique to them yet acceptable to all; so this is me, in my basic imagination, telling you how much I love you.

I really don’t know how other people wake up, but I love how you wake me up, there are days when I wake up in an instant (like a jolt of black coffee), there are other times I wake up or more like I ease into waking up- like savoring the aroma of a cooking meal), in all there’s that uniqueness that warms my heart. I love you for being there for me even before I ever imagined that I needed you, and just like Eric McDaniel, J. Hairston and Minon Bolton, I am saying- I AM GRATEFUL.

I have often wondered how I can accurately describe how much I know you love me, I end up with a headache’s shadow, so I am content with loving you and knowing how to express it. Expressing my love for you and gratitude is like singing unsung melodies, better pouring out my heart by speaking in tongues, you definitely understand. I was alright with life…you loved, I was broken hearted…you still loved, I was ill and going crazy…you still loved me- desperately, I neglected you, did things I am not entirely proud of- you did not love me less, I was feeling high and Pharisee-like….you still loved me.

I may not have the best of words or the most touching lyrics, or the best artwork expressing how much I love you, I have come to realize that you would accept the love, not because you are desperate, but you love me so much that my feeble attempts in showing how much I love you touches you. Here I am cap-in-hand, saying I love you beyond my imagination can let me for now, I love for every time I err you correct me in your way (in the way that works at the time), I love that you love me too much to give me too much. I love you and I intend to be more expressive. I am desperately in love with you Lord that I am going to attempt to be artistic in my words, but words could be cheap.

IMG_5160

I am going to work at being more expressive; here is my attempt: My love for you is like the sunset over the seas, it’s not orange, it’s not purple, it could be described but I am going to attempt to be artistic in my words, but words could be cheap, I am going to work at being more expressive; here is my attempt: My love for you is like the sunset over the seas, it’s not orange, it’s not purple, it could be described but better-experienced…as beautiful as that is, it comes to naught compared to your love for me. I was taught to look before I leap, but with you I will leap and still not look, my love for you enables me to trust you absolutely, even when it’s against the norm There are times when my love for you brings butterflies to my belly, other times it brings clarity, I love that I am not helpless, love that you let me fall in love with you and not force me to love you even though its within your capacity.

I was taught to look before I leap, but with You I will leap and still not look, my love for you enables me to trust you absolutely, even when it’s against the norm There are times when my love for you brings butterflies to my belly, other times it brings clarity, I love that I am not helpless, love that you let me fall in love with You and not force me to love you even though it’s within your capacity. Concluding this entry, I have come to realise that I cannot express my love for you without talking about your love for me, the truth is; you first love me. I wish I had an artist who can paint what I feel inside, I wish I had a camera that can capture how much I love you, I wish I had a lyricist to describe how much I love you and how much I want to love you, Lord.

The truth is; you know how much I love you because you are all those things I wished I had to express my true feelings; now I am content, knowing that even more than I have admitted to myself, you know my true feelings…that’s one more thing I love about you. With you, I am not in love with the idea of being in love; I know that I am in love with you.

Yours Sincerely

Taemytayo (the one who loves you).

I have tried to express my love for God but I keep running in circles, take a break from your busy or laid back schedule and express your love for your creator; it helps put things in perspective.

Here’s the love letter I wrote to God, “I love you ” could be mere words, what other ways can you use to express your love for and to God?

Remember: He first loved you!

8 thoughts on “Dear Love,

  1. Hey sugar, this is so sweet and refreshing… it leaves me with a smile on my face. You’ve so captured the sweetness of your love for God in such a beautiful way. Awesome piece hun..xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

