Move it over…make room

Hello everyone,

I’d say, happy new month and welcome to August. While 7 means perfection, 8 stands for new beginnings. If you have been looking for a reason to start something new…well, I just gave you the best reason.

Before the pandemic, what were the things you had said you would do if you had the time? Top of my list was to take my relationship with God seriously, another one was to take some online classes. We’ve been on lockdown in my side of town since March, and it’s good to do some evaluation from time to time. The month of August is a perfect time to start that.

The song I am spotlighting in this post is by a young man – Jonathan McReynolds. The name of the song is “Make Room” – Released in 2018.

The intro to the song is quite captivating, and I believe a lot of us can relate.

“I find space for what I treasure

 And I make time for what I want

 I choose my priorities and

 Jesus, You’re my number one

 So I will make room for You

 I will prepare for two

 So You don’t feel that You

 Can’t live here, please live in me…”

I remember quite fondly when I was dating or had male friends call me up at night (not midnight calls), I usually would fall asleep with them on the phone. It wasn’t romantic, I just happen to either have the bad habit of sleeping on calls, or they weren’t a priority. I firmly believe it is the latter. It was so bad that my close friend (Chis – who I was living with) would typically just cut the call when I fell asleep.

When my husband and I were courting, it was different. First, I told him I didn’t do calls when we met, he said I would make an exception for him – I did. At night, we could talk for hours ‘unend’, guess what, I wouldn’t sleep. Why was he different? Simple, he was a priority on my list. Till now, he’s still one of the few people that I call. I just find phone calls very draining and so my go-to is messaging.

You might be wondering why this is important. What’s priority in your life? Remember what Jesus said:

“Don’t hoard treasure down here where it gets eaten by moths and corroded by rust or—worse!—stolen by burglars. Stockpile treasure in heaven, where it’s safe from moth and rust and burglars. It’s obvious, isn’t it? The place where your treasure is, is the place you will most want to be, and end up being. – Matthew 6:19-21 MSG

It’s okay to have other things on your list, it’s okay to be ambitious, it’s okay to prioritise your family. Everyone else can hustle for number 2 and more on your scale of preference. The question is, is Jesus your number 1?

If you are still thinking about this answer, or you are not convinced, then Jesus isn’t your number 1.

My message for you this August is to make room for Jesus…not just in your life but as number 1.

How do you make him number 1? Jonathan McReynolds hinted us on this:

“My will (You can move that over)
My way (You can move that over, too)
My ego (You can move that over)
My plans (You can move that over, too)
My schedule (You can move that over)
My itinerary (You can move that over)
For see I, I will make room for You…

…I wanna seek You first (You can move that over)
Keep the old things out the way (You can move that over, too)
I wanna seek You first (You can move that over)
Move it all out the way (You can move that over, too)
See, whatever it is (You can move that over)
Lord, I just want You (You can move that over, too)
So I will make room, yeah…”

This shouldn’t come as news –

But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you. – Matthew 6:33

So this August, decide in your heart to “Make Room” for Jesus in your life, make him number 1. Don’t be discouraged by what’s on the news, by your ambition, by your plans. Everything makes sense when he is number 1. The biggest win you can have in this life is to constantly have Jesus as number 1 in your life.

Here’s the link to the song on YouTube – https://youtu.be/SiycqP-kCKE

I hope this blesses you as much as it did me. Kindly read, like and share.

Welcome to A-U-G-U-S-T

Leave a comment